Hey there everyone! It is me…Brutus, and I am ready to find my furever home. I am a handsome 4-year-old boy who was surrendered by my previous family when life got too busy for them to provide me with the attention I needed and deserved.


I am a pretty healthy guy but do suffer from minor allergies that are currently controlled with periodic Cytopoint injections. I also am a bit overweight; however, I am working on slimming down. I eat Royal Canin HP Moderate Calorie to help with my allergies and weight loss. I had nares and palate surgery performed while with my previous family but despite this I still snore loudly. I hope you don’t mind snoring, because I love being in the bed with my humans soooo much!


I am very tolerant of grooming. I also have a very good temperament with most strangers. Sometimes I will even lie down and flip over in a submissive manner. I do bark when people come to the door but do not approach them aggressively. I am good with children but because I am a bit rambunctious, I need a home with older (ages 10+) kids.


Cats…I lived with one in my previous home but not in my foster home so it is not completely clear how I would do. I have, however, exhibited some prey drive with wild rabbits when outside. Other dogs…I like them. I was slowly introduced to dogs in my foster home and have had absolutely no issues with them. I definitely would rather be around my humans than other pets in the home, though. I also will sometimes bark back at dogs on walks but am good once I meet them up close.


I would consider myself to be moderately active. If it’s cool enough outside, I can go on walks that are over a quarter mile. If I do get some exercise, then I am mostly a couch potato for the remainder of the day. I am leash trained and will usually walk nicely by your side, so I do not require a forever home with a fenced yard.


I am housebroken. I do not mark and have not had one accident in my foster home. I do not chew on inappropriate things and stick to just chewing on my Nylabones and Benebones. My favorite activities are snuggling and hanging out on the couch and bed with my humans. I also am amazing at riding in cars…quiet and very well behaved!


In my past, I often was boarded in a crate for long periods of times…sometimes as long as 3 weeks. It seems that I have developed some fear of abandonment and now have some crate/separation anxiety from this. When in a crate, I will pant and whine. My foster family has been working with me on this and I have definitely come a long way. They have found that I do better in my crate when another dog is nearby. They also think I may do better in a confined area with gates vs. a crate. The vet prescribed me Trazadone/Gabapentin to take as needed for my crate anxiety as well.


I would really love a home where someone is always around at first. I may be able to slowly be acclimated to longer periods of time alone, but it will take time for me to get there. I very much am a Velcro dog and really crave human attention. I just really want someone to love me and give me lots of affection…pets and snuggles are the best!!


If you have the patience to work through my crate/separation anxiety with me and are ready for us to share lots of lovin’, then please apply!

Source link

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest Articles